Tourism

Joint Working Group on Tourism

Hörnoya Vardö.JPG
Hornøya island in Vardø, Norway, famous of its seabird colonies


The Barents Euro-Arctic Region is an attractive destination for international tourism. The significance of tourism as a source of livelihood has grown considerably during the past decades.  Tourism business employs a lot of people and thus provides income and welfare. This is very important especially in sparsely populated areas, where tourism is sometimes the only developing source of livelihood.

The Joint Working Group on Tourism (JWGT) was established to develop tourism business in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region and to promote ecologically, socially and culturally sustainable tourism. In practice, this means promoting multilateral co-operation and joint projects, networking and exchanging information and best practices.

The Joint Working Group on Tourism works on both national and regional levels. The national level provides information on the current state policy in this sphere, on the plans and programmes, on national legislation and amendments. The regional level implements the co-operation in practice.

The objectives of the JWGT:

  • to increase international awareness of and interest in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region (BEAR) and thus promote incoming tourism to the area

  • to promote entrepreneurship and employment in the field of tourism in order to increase tourism revenue in the BEAR

  • to promote development and realization of cross-border tourism projects

  • to improve preconditions for tourism development in the BEAR e.g. by improving accessibility (flight and railway traffic),  developing all year round tourism and developing border crossing formalities

  • to maintain the unique tourism attractions of the BEAR by promoting sustainable tourism development and by adapting to the challenges caused by climate change

  • to build, develop, promote and market authentic high quality joint products based on the local cultures and traditions of the Barents Euro-Arctic Region, e.g. the cultures and traditions of the indigenous peoples

  • to co-operate in the fields of tourism education and research in order to recognize and spread good practices

The JWGT Mandate for 2013-2017 EN 
The Barents Tourism Action Plan EN 


Contacts: 

Sweden
Ms. Monica Lejon (Chair)
Regional Council of Norrbotten 
Tel: +46 70 387 3752
E-mail: monica.lejon@norrbotten.se

Ms. Erika Rosander
Swedish Agency for economic and Regional Growth
Tel: +46 8 681 6518
E-mail: erika.rosander@tillvaxtverket.se

Mr. Lars Söderlind
Ministry of Enterprise
Tel: +46 8 405 1000
E-mail: lars.soderlind@regeringskansliet.se

 Norway
Mr. John-Steve Linløkken
Marketing Director
Nord-Norsk Reiseliv AS
Tel: +47 90118556  
E-mail: john-steve@nordnorge.com

Russia
Mr. Valery Korovkin
Tel: +7 495 6073932, +7 985 9280125
E-mail: valery.korovkin@mail.ru

Ms. Anna Popova
Ministry of industrial development and enterprise of Murmansk
Tel: +7 8152 486287+7 8152 486287
E-mail: apopova@gov-murman.ru

Ms. Svetlana Zenovskaya 
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Culture of Arkhangelsk Region
Tel: +7 8182 215569, +7 921 2471181
E-mail: minkultao@dvinaland.ru, zenovskaya@dvinaland.ru

Ms. Irina Chernova 
Deputy Minister 
Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Archiving of the Republic Komi 
Tel: +7 8212 284028
E-mail: i.i.chernova@mincult.rkomi.ru 

Ms. Ekaterina Biktimirova 
Head of Tourism Department
Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Karelia  
Tel: +7 8142 766246
E-mail: biktimirova@mincult.karelia.ru

Finland
Ms. Hanna-Mari Kuhmonen
Senior Officer
Ministry of Employment and the Economy
Tel: +358 295047008, +358 400395606
E-mail: hanna-mari.kuhmonen@tem.fi

Ms. Satu Luiro
Tourism Coordinator
Regional Council of Lapland
Tel: +358 400124029, +358 400124029
E-mail: satu.luiro@lapinliitto.fi

Mr. Tuomo Tahvanainen
Director of Tourism
Kainuun Etu Oy
Tel: +358 445514585, +358 445514585
E-mail: tuomo.tahvanainen@kainuunetu.fi

Mr. Pekka Huovinen
Development Manager
Regional Council of North Karelia
Tel: +358 405835428
E-mail: pekka.huovinen@pohjois-karjala.fi

Representative of Working Group of Indigenous Peoples (WGIP) 
Mr. Andrey Dubovtsev
Agricultural Cooperative Tundra 
Tel: +7 921 1727567 
E-mail: andrey.shpk.tundra@gmail.com 

Vacant position at the IBS

The IBS has a vacant position as Climate, Environment and Hot Spots Advisor for one year, from the beginning of September. Click "Read more" for full advertisement.

Read more

Internship at the IBS - hiring now!

The International Barents Secretariat in Kirkenes now welcomes internship applications for autumn 2018. Click below for more information.

Read more