Tourism

Joint Working Group on Tourism

Aurora-Arvidsjaur.jpg
Northern Lights over Arvidsjaur, Sweden. Photo: Alexandra Möller

The Barents Euro-Arctic Region is an attractive destination for international tourism. The significance of tourism as a source of livelihood has grown considerably during the past decades.  Tourism business employs a lot of people and thus provides income and welfare. This is very important especially in sparsely populated areas, where tourism is sometimes the only developing source of livelihood.

The Joint Working Group on Tourism (JWGT) was established to develop tourism business in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region and to promote ecologically, socially and culturally sustainable tourism. In practice, this means promoting multilateral co-operation and joint projects, networking and exchanging information and best practices. 

Joint Working Group on Tourism, Riga, November 2018
JWGT in Riga, November 2018

The Joint Working Group on Tourism works on both national and regional levels. The national level provides information on the current state policy in this sphere, on the plans and programmes, on national legislation and amendments. The regional level implements the co-operation in practice.

The objectives of the JWGT:

  • to increase international awareness of and interest in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region (BEAR) and thus promote incoming tourism to the area

  • to promote entrepreneurship and employment in the field of tourism in order to increase tourism revenue in the BEAR

  • to promote development and realization of cross-border tourism projects

  • to improve preconditions for tourism development in the BEAR e.g. by improving accessibility (flight and railway traffic),  developing all year round tourism and developing border crossing formalities

  • to maintain the unique tourism attractions of the BEAR by promoting sustainable tourism development and by adapting to the challenges caused by climate change

  • to build, develop, promote and market authentic high quality joint products based on the local cultures and traditions of the Barents Euro-Arctic Region, e.g. the cultures and traditions of the indigenous peoples

  • to co-operate in the fields of tourism education and research in order to recognize and spread good practices

The JWGT Mandate for 2018-2021 EN 
The Barents Tourism Action Plan EN 


Contacts: 

Sweden
Ms. Monica Lejon (Chair)
Regional Council of Norrbotten 
Tel: +46 70 387 3752
E-mail: monica.lejon@norrbotten.se

Ms. Erika Rosander
Swedish Agency for economic and Regional Growth
Tel: +46 8 681 6518
E-mail: erika.rosander@tillvaxtverket.se

Ms. Henrietta Schönenstern
Ministry of Enterprise and Innovation
Tel: +46 72 2082959
E-mail: henrietta.schonenstern@regeringskansliet.se

Norway
Mr. John-Steve Linløkken
Marketing Director
Nord-Norsk Reiseliv AS
Tel: +47 90118556
E-mail: john-steve@nordnorge.com

Russia
Ms. Anna Isaeva
Tel: +7 495 6073932
E-mail: isaeva@russiatourism.ru

Ms. Anna Popova
Ministry of industrial development and enterprise of Murmansk
Tel: +7 8152 486287+7 8152 486287
E-mail: apopova@gov-murman.ru

Ms. Svetlana Zenovskaya 
Deputy Minister
Ministry of Culture of Arkhangelsk Region
Tel: +7 8182 215569, +7 921 2471181
E-mail: minkultao@dvinaland.ru, zenovskaya@dvinaland.ru

Ms. Irina Chernova 
Deputy Minister 
Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Archiving of the Republic Komi 
Tel: +7 8212 284028
E-mail: i.i.chernova@mincult.rkomi.ru 

Ms. Ekaterina Biktimirova 
Head of Tourism Department
Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Karelia  
Tel: +7 8142 766246
E-mail: biktimirova@mincult.karelia.ru

Finland
Ms. Hanna-Mari Kuhmonen
Senior Specialist
Ministry of Employment and the Economy
Tel: +358 29 504 7008, +358 400 395 606
E-mail: hanna-mari.kuhmonen@tem.fi

Ms. Satu Luiro
Senior Adviser
Regional Council of Lapland
Tel: +358 400 124 029
E-mail: satu.luiro@lapinliitto.fi

Mr. Tuomo Tahvanainen
Director of Tourism
Kainuun Etu Oy
Tel: +358 445514585
E-mail: tuomo.tahvanainen@kainuunetu.fi

Mr. Heikki Ojala 
Development Manager 
Council of Oulu region
Tel: +358 50 433 3951
E-mail: heikki.ojala@pohjois-pohjanmaa.fi

Mr. Pekka Huovinen
Development Manager
Regional Council of North Karelia
Tel: +358 40 583 5428
E-mail: pekka.huovinen@pohjois-karjala.fi

Representative of Working Group of Indigenous Peoples (WGIP) 
Mr. Andrey Dubovtsev
Agricultural Cooperative Tundra 
Tel: +7 921 1727567 
E-mail: andrey.shpk.tundra@gmail.com 

Project funding in Barents

The IBS has gathered information for all Barents relevant funding sources - more information below!

Read more

Internship at the IBS

Internship at the International Barents Secretariat in Kirkenes - click below for more information!

Read more
Our website uses cookies, read more. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]
OK