Barents Forest Sector Network (BFSN)

The forest sector is an important part of the economic, social and environmental development in the Barents region. The aim of the Barents Forest Sector Network (BFSN) is to promote sustainable management of forest resources, to follow and timely contribute to BEAC activities, to advocate balanced and coherent view on forests as well as on the products and services they provide.

To this end BFSN is to:

  • promote economically, socially and environmentally sustainable management of forest resources, and

  •  contribute to conditions of sustainable and multifaceted utilisation of forest resources and to promote ecosystem services in the Barents region.

The key principle of BFSN is to facilitate collaboration in flexible and cost-efficient manner. Working methods of the BFSN include:

  • networking, with the aim of exchanging information and preparing joint contributions,

  • group meetings that can be arranged as needed, and

  • identification and carrying out of activities that include, but are not limited, to expert meetings, seminars and projects.

Browse the subgroup documents

BFSN-Umea-web.jpg

BFSN meeting in Umeå, June 2018

Contacts:

Sweden
Staffan Norin (Chair)
Head of the North Region
Swedish Forest Agency
Tel. +46 90158336
E-mail: staffan.norin@skogsstyrelsen.se 

Per Hallgren (Chairmanship coordinator)
Swedish Forest Agency, Umeå
Tel. +46 90158338
E-mail: per.hallgren@skogsstyrelsen.se


Lars Andersson
Senior Adviser / International Coordinator
Swedish Forest Agency
Tel. +46 54555721
E-mail: lars.t.andersson@skogsstyrelsen.se

Esbjörn Andersson 
Hon. Professor
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
Tel. +46 22234953, +46 703734340 
E-mail: Esbjorn.Andersson@slu.se

Russia
Nikita Pavlovich
Chief of Unit
North-West Region Forestry Department
Tel: +7 812 5923991, +7 921 8559369
E-mail: eco-news@yandex.ru,info@szfo-rosleshoz.ru

Ivan Sovetnikov
Head of the Legal Department of the Federal Agency of Forestry
Tel: +7 495 9511132

Natalia Demidova 
Deputy Director
Northern Research Institute of Forestry 
Tel: +7 8182 612679
E-mail: forestry@sevniilh-arh.ru
   
Mr. Alexander Erulik
Minister of Natural Resources and 
Timber Industry Complex of the Arkhangelsk Region
Tel.: +7 8182 207776
E-mail: lesdep@dvinaland.ru

Finland
Mr. Tatu Torniainen, D.Sc.(For.)
Ministerial Adviser
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Tel:  +358 295162162
E-mail: tatu.torniainen@mmm.fi

Timo Karjalainen
Professor
Natural Resources Institute Finland
Tel: +358 295323080
E-mail: timo.j.karjalainen@luke.fi

Norway
Terje Hoel
Adviser
Ministry of Agriculture and Food 
Tel: +47 22249249
E-post: terje.hoel@lmd.dep.no



Project funding in Barents

The IBS has gathered information for all Barents relevant funding sources - more information below!

Read more

Internship at the IBS

Internship at the International Barents Secretariat in Kirkenes - click below for more information!

Read more
Our website uses cookies, read more. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]
OK