The Barents Regional Council


Kainuu region, Finland, took over the BRC Chairmanship from the Arkhangelsk Oblast (Russia) on 14 October, 2015. Kainuu will chair the BRC for two years.

The Barents Regional Council unites 13 member counties and a representative of the indigenous peoples in the northernmost parts of Finland, Norway and Sweden and north-west Russia.

At the same time as the BEAC was established in 1993 by the signing of the Kirkenes Declaration, the regional representatives, together with the indigenous peoples signed a co-operation protocol that established the Regional Council for the Barents Euro-Arctic Region with the same objectives as the BEAC - to support and promote co-operation and development in the Barents Region. The protocol determines the structure and the general aims of the regional co-operation.

The Barents Region includes the following counties or their equivalents:

  • in Finland: Kainuu, Lapland and Oulu Region (North Karelia was granted an observer status in 2008)  
  • in Norway: Finnmark, Nordland and Troms
  • in Russia: Arkhangelsk, Karelia, Komi, Murmansk and Nenets.
  • in Sweden: Norrbotten and Västerbotten
Indigenous Peoples in the Barents Region:  
  • Sami (in Norway, Sweden, Finland and Russia)  
  • Nenets (in Russia)
  • Veps (in Russia)

2013-06-03 Barents regional council large.jpg

The Barents Regional Council in Kirkenes, June 2013


The establishment of a forum for the interregional Barents cooperation is an acknowledgement of the importance of local knowledge, the ability to identify the most urgent common priorities and the capacity to carry out cross-border projects and cooperate on implementation of common programmes.

Initially, the Barents Region consisted of seven member counties, but already in April 1993 the Republic of Karelia in Russia joined the co-operation. An increasing interest in the benefits of regional co-operation and the potentials of the northern regions followed. The Barents Region gradually expanded and with the accession of the Russian Republic of Komi on 1 January 2002, the Region now comprises 13 member counties, approximately 1.75 mn sq. km and nearly 5.3 million inhabitants. In its meeting in Kuusamo 29.5.2008 the Barents Regional Council decided to admit the region of North Karelia as an observer into the Barents Regional Council.

The Chairmanship of the Barents Regional Council rotates biennially between its 13 member counties. The Regional Council convenes twice  a year. The Regional Council’s meetings are prepared by the Regional Committee which consists of civil servants from the member county administrations.

Kainuu, Finland, took over the Chairmanship from Arkhangelsk, Russia, in October 2015 and will hold it until the end of 2017.

The Barents Programme is the framework for co-operation where the priority areas of work are identified. The focus in the Barents 2010 strategy is on sector programmes, which are strongly oriented towards the natural resource potentials in the region and linked to closely related industries. Six frame sector programmes have been launched: sector programme on forestry, sector programme on mining and minerals, sector programme on oil and gas, sector programme on tourism, sector programme on east-west logistics and sector programme on higher education. A specific region takes leading role in each sector programme and identifies partner regions. Next step is to create bilateral or multilateral targeted pilot projects within each programme.

The Barents Programme 2014-2018, as printable version in English - and as brochure in English and Russian. The programme was adopted by the Regional Council on 2 June 2013.

Working groups deepen co-operation

In order to deepen and concretise the co-operation the Regional Council has established Working Groups in priority areas of work. There are at present three regional thematic working groups on environment, investment and economic co-operation as well as transport and logistics.  Together with the Working Group on Indigenous Peoples which has an advisory role to both the Regional Council and to the BEAC, and six joint BEAC/BRC working groups (culture; health and related social issues; education and research; energy: tourism; youth) there are altogether ten Working Groups reporting to the Barents Regional Council. 

Contact information

Contacted through:
Chair of the Regional Committee
Pentti Malinen
Regional Mayor
Regional Council of Kainuu
Kauppakatu 1
FI-87100 Kajaani
Tel: +358 44 797 01 97

Members of the Barents Regional Council


KOVTUN, Marina
Regional Government of Murmansk
Lenina Pr. 75
183006 Murmansk, Russia
Tel: +7 81 52 48 62 01

Regional Government of Arkhangelsk
Troitskiy  Pr. 49
163004 Arkhangelsk, Russia

Regional Government of Karelia
Lenina Pr. 19
Petrozavodsk, 185028 Republic of Karelia, Russia
Tel: +7 81 42 79 93 02

Regional Government of Komi
Kommunisticheskaya st. 9
Syktyvkar, 167000 Komi Republic, Russia
Tel: +7 82 12 28 51 13

Regional Government of NAO
Smidovicha Ul. 20
Naryan-Mar, 166000 Nenetskiy, Russia
Tel: +7 81 85 34 30 87

Regional Council of Norrbotten
Stationsgatan 5
97186 Luleå, Sweden
Tel: +46 10 22 55 482

ANDERSSON, Magdalena
Regional Council of Västerbotten
Storgatan 71B
90186 Umeå, Sweden
Tel: +46 10 22 54 300

MYRSETH, Cecilie
Regional Council of Troms
Strandvegen 13
9007 Tromsø, Norway
Tel: +47 77 78 80 08

Regional Council of Nordland
Prinsens gate 100
8048 Bodø, Norway
Tel: +47 90 87 74 77

Regional Council of Finnmark
Postboks 701
9815 Vadsø, Norway
Tel: +47 78 96 32 32

HARJU, Pauli
Regional Council of Oulu
Sepänkatu 20
FIN-90100 Oulu, Finland
Tel: +35 84 00 38 91 52

Regional Council of Kainuu
Kauppakatu 1
87100 Kajaani, Finland
Tel: +35 85 05 12 22 38

Regional Council of Lapland
Hallituskatu 20B
96101 Rovaniemi, Finland
Tel: +35 84 47 67 42 00

Working Group on Indigenous Peoples (WGIP):
Domna Khomiuuk, Sami Russia
Tel: +792 11 54 68 22 


New address for the website

Go to

Go to
Our website uses cookies, read more about cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]