Territory and Population

Total population: approx. 5.2 million people

The surface area of the Barents Region, 1 755 800 sq. km, equals the combined area of France, Spain, Germany, Italy and the Netherlands. The population density is on average only 2,9 inhabitants per square kilometre. It varies from 0,24 (Nenets) to 11,3 (Oulu) inhabitants.

The Saamì people is at home in all four states that belong to the Barents Euro-Arctic Council. The regional co-operation includes two more indigenous peoples: the Nenets and the Vepsian.

The largest city in the Barents Region (in 2014) is Arkhangelsk (Russia) with 357 409 inhabitants followed by Murmansk with a population of 299 000 (2014 est.). The largest Nordic city in the region is Oulu (Finland) with 196 291 (2014) inhabitants followed by Umeå (Sweden) with a population of 119 613 (2014).

Largest cities 2014 (thousand inhabitants)

Joensuu (76)
Oulu (144)
Rovaniemi (61)

Tromsø  (72) 
Bodø (50)

Murmansk (299)
Archangelsk (357)
Petrozavodsk (272)
Syktyvkar (242)

Umeå (119)
Luleå (76)

Population in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region
territories (thousand inhabitants)

Kainuu (79)
Lapland (181)
North Karelia (164)
Oulu region (Northern Ostrobothnia) (394)

Finnmark (74)
Nordland (238)
Troms (159)

Arkhangelsk Oblast (1 191)
Murmansk Oblast  (788)
Nenets AO (42)
Republic of Karelia (640)
Republic of Komi (890)

Norrbotten  (249)
Västerbotten (260)


New address for the website

Go to

Go to
Our website uses cookies, read more about cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]