Exclusion Procedure

Hot Spot Exclusion Procedure

The Hot Spot Exclusion Procedure (HSEP) was developed in 2010 and consists of eight steps implying examination of the environmental status of each hot spot. The status of the hot spots is examined by the federal and regional authorities of the Russian Federation. Based on the status assessment and the assessment of actions already carried out, the hot spot owner elaborates and carry out actions necessary to remove the hot spot from the list.

Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment of the Russian Federation (Minprirody RF) with the Federal Environmental and Nature Management Supervision Service (Rosprirodnadzor) are responsible for the overall implementation of the Exclusion Procedure. The practical operation is done by the five regional Hot spot Exclusion Groups (HEGs), established in Karelia, Komi, Arkhangelsk, Murmansk and Nenets. These groups are comprised by regional environmental authorities.

The BEAC Working Group on Environment’s Subgroup on Hot Spot Exclusion coordinates the work on Hot Spot exclusion. The Nordic Environment Finance Corporation, NEFCO, manages a special financial tool, the Barents Hot Spot Facility, to launch projects at the Hot Spots.

The so-called Full Track HSEP consists of eight consequent steps:

1. Initiation of Exclusion
2. Screening and Analysis
3. Definition of Hot Spot issue and Specific Exclusion Criteria
4. Drafting of Action Plan
5. Approval of Action Plan
6. Implementation of Action Plan
7. Application for Exclusion
8. Exclusion from the Barents Environmental Hot Spots List

By 2020, two pilot Hot Spots followed the Full Track Exclusion Procedure and were excluded from the Barents List: Ko3-2 Mondi Syktyvkar Pulp and Paper Mill (wastewater discharge), located in the Komi Republic, and K5 Sewage treatment in Petrozavodsk, Republic of Karelia. Both installations fulfill requirements of the Best Available Techniques (BAT), set by the new Russian Environmental legislation. Other Hot Spots have been excluded by the so-called Fast Track Procedure. 

See all excluded Hot Spots.

Our website uses cookies, read more about cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. [I Agree]