Education and Research

Joint Working Group on Education and Research

The objective of the Joint Working Group on Education and Research (JWGER) is to further strengthen academic cooperation in the Barents Region in response to the growing international challenges and needs in the field of human resources, research and innovation. The present work of the group is carried out through regular forums on education and research hosted by the institutions of higher education and research in all of the member countries. JWGER is promoting knowledge of the Barents area and education in the Barents area.

Northern (Arctic) Federal University in Arkhangelsk holds the chairmanship for 2015-2017. There are 14 universities and research units in the network.

The working group supports the Barents Phd Summer Schools that have been arranged since 2014 in Kirkenes, Umeå, Kuusamo and Arkhangelsk by the univesities of Oulu, Umeå, Tromsø and Arkhangelsk.

More information on education and research in the Barents Region can be found here.


library_Petrozavodsk.jpg

Contacts:

Russia
Marina Kalinina (Chair)
Rectors Advisor on International Cooperation
Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Arkhangelsk
Tel: +7 8182216160, +7 9217210944
E-mail: m.r.kalinina@narfu.ru

Lyubov Zarubina 
Head of International Cooperation Department
Northern (Arctic) Federal University, Arkhangelsk
Tel: +7 8182218927
E-mail:l.zarubina@narfu.ru

Liudmila Gerashchenko
First Vice-Rector
Murmansk State Technical University. Murmansk
Tel: +7 8152253687
E-mail: GeraschenkoLV@mstu.edu.ru

Vladimir Masloboev
Vice-President
Kola Science Centre of Russian Academy of Sciences, Apatity
Murmansk region
Tel: +7 9113030870
E-mail: masloboev@admksc.apatity.ru

Yuriy Sumarokov
Head of the Department of International Cooperation
Northern State Medical University, Arkhangelsk
Tel:+7 8182285759, +7 9212445216
E-mail: sumja@nsmu.ru

Anton Grigoriev
Head of International Department
Ukhta State Technical University. Ukhta
Tel: +7 9042739664
E-mail: agrigoriev@ugtu.net

Natalia Sergieva
Vice Rector on International Cooperation
Syktyvkar State University, Syktyvkar
Tel: +7 8212 390 305, +7 9041 006 283
E-mail: nsergieva@yandex.ru, prorector-nr@sykstu.ru

Liudmila Kulikovskaya
Director of Linguistic Center
Petrozavodsk State University, Petrozavodsk
Tel: +7 8142711089
E-mail: kulikovskaya@petrsu.ru

Natalia Sedusova
Head of International Relations Department
Syktyvkar Forest Institute, Syktyvkar
Tel: +7 9129650334
E-mail: indep@sfi.komi.com

Finland
Outi Snellman
Director of International Relations
University of Lapland, Rovaniemi
E-mail: outi.snellman@ulapland.fi

Mikko Keränen
Director Research and Development
Kajaani University of Applied Sciences, Kajaani
Tel: + 358 447101620
E-mail: mikko.keranen@kamk.fi

Eira Varis
Director of Development
Regional Council of North Karelia
Tel: +358 503074806
E-mail: eira.varis@pohjois-karjala.fi

Norway
Sigrid Ag
Head of International Office
The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø
Tel: +47 7623368
E-mail: sigrid.ag@uit.no

Jan Selmer Methi
Associate Professor 
Nord University, Bodø
Tel: +47 75517849
E-mail: jan.methi@nord.no

Sweden 
Elinor Blomberg 
Ministry of Foreign Affairs  
Tel: +46 8 405 90 55 
Mob: +46 72 506 12 58 
E-mail: elinor.blomberg@gov.se 

Project funding in Barents

How to make your Barents project dreams come true? We have gathered information for all Barents relevant funding sources in our new portal.

Read more

Internship at the IBS

The International Barents Secretariat in Kirkenes invites students and young professionals to be part of the secretariat’s team as interns. More information below.

Read more