Culture

The Joint Working Group on Culture

Cross-border regional cooperation in the field of culture is an integral part of the Barents cooperation. The development of cultural life serves the social and economic development in the Barents Euro-Arctic Region.

The aim of the Joint Working Group on Culture (JWGC) is to strengthen cultural identitiesmulticultural dialogue and cultural ties between the Barents countries and the regions. In addition to the regional cultural administrations, the JWGC has representation from the Finnish, Norwegian, Russian and Swedish ministries responsible for culture and from the Working Group of Indigenous Peoples.

In the line with the overall vision of the multilateral cooperation formulated in the Barents Programme 2014-2018, the JWGC strategy Cultural Cooperation in the Barents Region 2014-2018 highlights the importance of capacity building and exchange. It also encourages facilitating and promoting networking, creating different kinds of new cultural meeting places, focusing on the strong relationship between culture and cultural and creative industries as well as creating new international opportunities for strengthening the competitiveness of the cultural operators in the Barents Region.

JWGC established Barents Scholarship for Cultural Cooperation in 2016. More information here.

Arktikum_talvi.jpg

Previous programmes:

New Horizons in the Barents Region (2011-2013) was the third Cultural Programme. It highlighted the importance for further strengthening cultural cooperation and its impact on regional, social and economic development in the Barents Region.

The second programme of Cultural Cooperation 2008-2010 was "New Winds in the Barents Region" was the framework for inter-regional cultural cooperation in the region. It highlighted cultural diversity and the importance of culture and cultural industry as a unique tool for the development of the region. The overall objective of the Programme was to further strengthen cultural cooperation and thus increase the impact of culture in the Barents Region.  

The first Programme Voices in the Barents Region was implemented in the period of 2003-2006. 

 Culture.JPG


Contacts:

Finland
Helena Aaltonen (co-chair)
Regional Development Specialist
Regional Council of Kainuu
Tel: +358 447100854 
E-mail: helena.aaltonen@kainuu.fi

Maija Lummepuro
Counsellor for Cultural Affairs
Ministry of Education and Culture

Tel: +358 295330198, +358 400800218
E-mail: maija.lummepuro@minedu.fi

Tomi Aho
Special Advisor
Arts Promotion Centre, Lapland 
Tel: +358 295330850
E-mail: tomi.aho@taike.fi   

Auli  Suorsa
Regional planner
Council of Oulu Region
Tel: +358 503868443
E-mail: auli.suorsa@pohjois-pohjanmaa.fi

Ilpo Tapaninen
Regional planner
Council of Oulu Region
Tel: +358 503017546
E-mail: ilpo.tapaninen@pohjois-pohjanmaa.fi

Ulla Lassila
Special Advisor
Art Promotion Centre, Oulu
Tel: +35 8295330860
E-mail: ulla.lassila@taike.fi

Hanna Susitaival
Special Advisor
Arts Promotion Centre Finland
Tel: +358 295330910
E-mail: hanna.susitaival@taike.fi

Russia

Olga Andonieva
Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation
Tel: +7 4956294394
E-mail: olga.andonieva@mkrf.ru

Alina Ivashchenko (co-chair)
Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation
Tel: +7 4956291010
E-mail: alina.ivashchenko@mkrf.ru

Veronika Yanichek
Minister of Culture of the Arkhangelsk Region
Tel: +7 8182286369, +7 9212980366
E-mail: minkultao@dvinaland.ru, yanichek@dvinaland.ru

Anna Tomchik
Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Karelia
Tel: +7 8142785507
E-mail: tomchik@mincult.karelia.ru  

Vitaliy Emelyanov
Minister of Culture of the Republic of Komi 
Tel: +7 8212287560
E-mail: adm@mincult.rkomi.ru

Sergey Ershov 
Committee on Culture and Arts of the Murmansk Region
E-mail: ershov@gov-murman.ru

Norway 
Sverre Miøen
Senior adviser
Ministry of Culture 
Tel: +47 22248013 
E-mail: sm@kud.dep.no 

Karoline Andreassen Tandberg
Finnmark County Council 
Tel: +47 78963005
E-mail: karoline.andreassen.tandberg@ffk.no

Bjørg Helene Jenssen 
Director of Culture, environment and public health 
Nordland County Council
Tel: +47 95867220 
E-mail: bjojen@nfk.no 

Ellen Østgård
Director of Culture
Troms County Council
Tel: +47 77788224, +47 91324339
E-mail: ellen.ostgard@tromsfylke.no

Sweden
David Ek
Secretary
Ministry of Culture
Tel: +46 84053897
E-mail: david.ek@regeringskansliet.se

Eva Jonsson 
Norrbotten County Council
Tel: +46 705498062 
E-mail: eva.a.jonsson@nll.se 

Camilla Thorn-Wollnert
Head of Cultural Affairs  
Region Västerbotten 
Tel: +46 70 377 5779  
E-mail: camilla.thorn-wollnert@regionvasterbotten.se   

Pia Brinkfeldt  
Region Västerbotten 
Tel: +46 705165745 
E-mail: pia.brinkfeldt@regionvasterbotten.se  

Representative of Indigenous Peoples Working Group (WGIP)
Valentina Zganich
Member of the Working Group on Indigenous Peoples 
Tel: +8 8185342046, +8 9115829585
E-mail: vzganich@mail.ru

 

 

 

Project funding in Barents

How to make your Barents project dreams come true? We have gathered information for all Barents relevant funding sources in our new portal.

Read more

"CLIMATE JOURNEY" PHOTO EXHIBITION

During two missions, in 2007 and 2012, Swedish journalist Tom Juslin traveled through the Nordic countries to find out how climate change affects people, animals and nature. His "Climate Journey" exhibition opens the planned series of exhibitions in Kirkenes.

Read more